Oregon

Oregon does not have automatic record clearance, but all nonconviction records, and most conviction records, can be set aside under a petition-based process.

Individuals may petition the court to set aside most misdemeanor and felony conviction records after a set period of time. The Clean Slate OR campaign is actively working to advance legislation to expand and remove barriers to the petition-based record clearance process, while also exploring automatic record clearance.

Summary of Current Law

Eligibility: Individuals may petition the court to set aside most misdemeanor and felony conviction records after a set period of time. Individuals must satisfy all the terms of their sentence and cannot have any pending criminal cases.

Exclusions: Sex offenses, child abuse, and violent offenses cannot be expunged.

Waiting Period: The waiting period is three years for most misdemeanor and low-level felony offenses and 20 years for Class B felony offenses.

Fines and Fees: If an individual was convicted of an offense, it costs roughly $1,000 to expunge each offense, including a $265 filing fee and an $80 fee to the state police. If one’s case was dismissed, the costs are closer to $600. In the case of marijuana possession convictions, an individual can apply for a set-aside without paying any fee

Clean Slate Campaign in Oregon

Resources

Restoration of Rights Project: Oregon


State Partners

Sponsors

Metropolitan Public Defenders

Read the Legislation

S.B. 397 0

Follow the campaign on social media at @CleanSlateOR